Wednesday I went for a run for the first time in about a year. Oh. the. pain. Ow, ow OOOWWWWEEE! I can’t believe it has been nine years since I ran the Chicago marathon. I was a size 8 and my stomach was flat. Now, just call me muffin top. On the positive side, I have lost about 30 pounds since I had Simone. But I still have about 35 to go to get to my goal weight, thanks to multiple rounds of IVF.

The last five years on the baby bandwagon felt like I was just going through the motions most of the time. I let a lot of things go. Now that Simone is here, it feels like a fog has been lifted in my life in general. Now that the fog is gone, I can see that my house is a mess. I have canned goods in my pantry that are five years old. Contrary to popular belief, just because it’s in a can does not mean it will last forever. It will probably take me all summer to purge all of the crap that I let pile up over the last five years. The junk man is gonna have a field day picking through our garbage.

In other news, my brother graduated from grad school last Saturday. He got a master’s in secondary education and he’ll be teaching math at a local high school in the fall. Smartypants. I’m very proud of him. Congrats, Bub. 🙂

